Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

Shadows of the Short Days

Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

On frost-covered streets beneath the northern lights, an outcast guerrilla artist and an rebellious, drug-addicted sorcerer will start a revolution.

A strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavik where wild and industrialised magic meet.

Perfect for fans of contemporary fantasy in the style of Lev Grossman's THE MAGICIANS or China Mieville's THE CITY & THE CITY

S mundur the Mad, addict and sorcerer, has been expelled from the magical university, Svartiskoli, and can no longer study galdur, an esoteric source of magic. Obsessed with proving his peers wrong, he will stop at nothing to gain absolute power and knowledge, especially of that which is long forbidden.

Garun is an outcast: half-human, half-huldufolk, her very existence is a violation of dimensional boundaries, the ultimate taboo. A militant revolutionary and graffiti artist, recklessly dismissive of the status quo, she will do anything to achieve a just society, including spark a revolution. Even if she has to do it alone.

This is a tale of revolution set in a twisted version of Reykjavik fuelled by industrialised magic and populated by humans, interdimensional exiles, otherworldly creatures, psychoactive graffiti and demonic familiars.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Shadows of the Short Days

  • A marvellous, quirky, original fantasy novel set in a magical steampunk version of Reykjavik: teeming with magic, dense with detail and with characters that not only leap off the page, but poke you in the eye as they do. Highly recommended. - Joanne Harris, Sunday Times bestselling author

  • Norse mythology like you've never seen it before, set in a Reykjavik that you never knew existed . . . a new breed of fantasy - Edward Cox, author of The Relic Guild

  • Fresh and exciting: full of dark, demonic, revolutionary shenanigans - Peter Newman, author of The Vagrant

  • A masterfully crafted dark tale . . . one of the most ambitious, intense, original and thrilling debuts I've read in a long time - Grimdark Magazine

  • Revolutionary fantasy fresher than a dip in a glacial stream. Definitely one for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville - Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion

  • A heady mix of revolution, monsters and magic, this is a novel of alternative Reykjavik in which myth and religion are alive - and hungry - Anna Stephens

  • A pacy, racy read that blends racial and political issues with traditional urban fantasy fare - Starburst Magazine

Read More Read Less

Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson

Alexander Dan Vilhjalmsson is an Icelandic author who lives in Reykjavik. Shadows of the Short Days is his first novel. He writes in both Icelandic and English and is the founder and editorof Iceland's first SFF magazine, Furousogur (Weird Stories). Alexander is also the vocalist and lyricist for Icelandic black metal band Carpe Noctem.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay