Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Affairs of Others

Amy Grace Loyd

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For fans of Siri Hustvedt and Nicole Krauss, THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS is an exceptional debut about the awakening of a young widow and 'carries a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as it is sensual' (DAILY MAIL). Includes reading-group notes.

For fans of Siri Hustvedt and Nicole Krauss, THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS is an exceptional debut about the awakening of a young widow and 'carries a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as it is sensual' (DAILY MAIL).

In the five years since her young husband's death, Celia Cassill has retreated from view. She has moved from one New York neighbourhood to another, but she has not moved on. Now the owner of a small apartment building, she has chosen tenants who will not intrude upon her grief.

Everything changes when a new tenant moves in upstairs. Intoxicating and dangerous, Hope is on the run from a failed marriage and in thrall to a seductive, sinister man. As her noisy affair destroys the building's quiet, and another tenant disappears, Celia is forced back into contact with life through violence, sex and the secrets barely concealed within the brownstone's walls.

'An assured and moving debut novel. It has the kind of real tenderness and simplicity that takes great skill to achieve' A. L. Kennedy

'A moody, sensual debut... both important and true' NEW YORKER


'The first novel from the ex-literary editor of Playboy carries a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is Amy Grace Loyd's subject
Read More Read Less

Praise for The Affairs of Others

  • The first novel from the ex-literary editor of PLAYBOY carries a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as it is sensual. What's more she is as good on the texture of spring in the city as she is on the faces and flesh. A classy debut by a sure-footed storyteller - DAILY MAIL

  • THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS is an assured and moving debut novel. It has the kind of real tenderness and simplicity that takes great skill to achieve

  • THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS is a wonderful novel, beautifully written and sensuous, rich with emotion and psychological truth. Amy Grace Loyd's prose hums with desire as she creates a Brooklyn walk-up that comes alive with the yearning of its tenants, and moves them toward an unforgettable ending - suspenseful, erotic and ultimately hopeful

  • Debut novels don't come any more sure-handed and deftly written than THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS. But it's the damaged, brokenhearted Celia - Amy Grace Loyd's brave, all-in protagonist - who latches on to us and refuses to loosen her grip

Read More Read Less

Amy Grace Loyd

Amy Grace Loyd is an executive editor at BYLINER INC. and was the fiction and literary editor of PLAYBOY magazine for over six years until 2011. She has also worked in THE NEW YORKER's fiction department and was associate editor on the NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS Classics series. She has been a MacDowell and Yaddo fellow. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay