Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Girl Behind the Gates: A raw, heart-breaking novel based on the true story of two women who became each other's salvation

Brenda Davies

Write Review

Rated 0

Gender studies: women

A raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting novel about a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who brings her back to life.

Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis and Philomena by Martin Sixsmith, this gripping, heartbreaking novel based on a true story will stay with you for ever.

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure and sheltered in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her.

1981.
When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than forty years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her tragic past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.

Based on a true story, The Girl Behind the Gates is the raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting tale of a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who finally brings her back to life.

Read More Read Less

Brenda Davies

Dr Brenda Davies is Consultant Psychiatrist and Director of Women's Services at Charter Nightingale. She is also a member of the Federation of Spiritual Healers, the International Healing Group and belongs to the Doctor-Healer network. She holds regular workshops on healing and includes many celebrities among her clients.

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay