Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • John Murray
  • John Murray
  • John Murray
  • John Murray

We Have No Idea: A Guide to the Unknown Universe

Jorge Cham, Daniel Whiteson

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Prose: non-fiction, Popular science

Many books explain what we know about the universe. This one, from the hugely popular PhD Comics (50 million readers since 2008), tackles all the weird stuff we haven't figured out yet.

In our small corner of the universe, we know how some matter behaves most of the time and what even less of it looks like, and we have some good guesses about where it all came from. But we really have no clue what's going on. In fact, we don't know what about 95% of the universe is made of.

So what happens when a cartoonist and a physicist walk into this strange, mostly unknown universe? Jorge Cham and Daniel Whiteson gleefully explore the biggest unknowns, why these things are still mysteries, and what a lot of smart people are doing to figure out the answers (or at least ask the right questions).

While they're at it, they helpfully demystify many complicated things we do know about, from quarks and neutrinos to gravitational waves and exploding black holes. With equal doses of humour and delight, they invite us to see the universe as a vast expanse of mostly uncharted territory that's still ours to explore.

This is a book for fans of Brian Cox and What If. This highly entertaining highly illustrated book is perfect for anyone who's curious about all the great mysteries physicists are going to solve next.

Read More Read Less

Praise for We Have No Idea: A Guide to the Unknown Universe

  • I was captivated by the fluent and insightful story telling - http://www.dailykos.com/

  • Impressive - NASA

  • Explains with vim, vigour, and entertaining illustrations... will get you well prepared for tomorrow's news - The Atlantic

Read More Read Less