Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Virago
  • Virago
  • Virago
  • Virago

Jamaica Inn: The thrilling gothic classic from the beloved author of REBECCA

Daphne Du Maurier

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Virago Modern Classics, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Classic fiction (pre c 1945), Classic crime, Thriller / suspense, Historical romance, Classic fiction (Children's / Teenage)

This unforgettable story of murder, mystery and passion by one of the best-loved writers of the twentieth century is perfect for a teenage market. Rebecca, Jamaica Inn and Frenchman's Creek are now available for the first time in YA editions.

AN UNFORGETTABLE STORY OF MURDER, MYSTERY AND PASSION, FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF REBECCA.
'Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner' THE TIMES
'Daphne du Maurier has no equal' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

'Jamaica Inn is a novel about nothing less than pure evil ... with an eerie and shocking kind of power, in the novel's astonishing final act' JULIE MYERSON, GUARDIAN

In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind. Jamaica Inn has a desolate power and behind its crumbling walls, Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband.

When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.

Jamaica Inn is a dark and gripping gothic tale that will remind readers of two other great classics, Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. This was also made into a film, also called Jamaica Inn, directed by Alfred Hitchcock.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Jamaica Inn: The thrilling gothic classic from the beloved author of REBECCA

  • A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights - Independent

  • A dark tale. A brilliant thriller - Daily Express

  • Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner - The Times

  • Daphne du Maurier has no equal - Sunday Telegraph

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier | Movie Trailer

Right
Left
loading...

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier | Movie Trailer

Right

Daphne Du Maurier

Daphne du Maurier (1907-1989) was born in London, England. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning with whom she had three children.

Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969, du Maurier was awarded the Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE). She lived most of her life in Cornwall and died there which is the setting for many of her books.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay