Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-es

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK's leading poets, Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and POET X.

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen - then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers - to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

'I masquerade in makeup and feathers and I am applauded.'

"A bold and joyous hymn to self-discovery and acceptance" The Bookseller

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Black Flamingo

  • Dean Atta's tender coming of age novel casts a fresh and enriching perspective on what it means to be seen as different at the level of race, culture, identity, heritage and gender ... an important book for young people - Poet

  • The Black Flamingo is the book I wish I had when I was younger ... joyful, emotional and full of depth. The Black Flamingo becomes an emblem of so much, and I am so excited to read this again - performance artist and poet

  • A bold and joyous hymn to self-discovery and acceptance - The Bookseller

  • Uplifting and dazzlingly unique, this coming-of-age treasure explores identity and sexuality with an emboldening message to remember that "you have the right to be you". - LoveReading 4 Kids

Read More Read Less

Dean Atta

Named as one of the most influential LGBT people in the UK by the Independent on Sunday and "one of poetry's greatest modern voices" by Gay Times, poet Dean Atta's work has appeared on BBC One, BBC Radio 4, BBC World Service and Channel 4, often dealing with themes of gender, identity, race and growing up. Dean regularly performs across the UK and internationally. He is a member of Keats House Poets Forum and Malika's Poetry Kitchen, as well as a Tutor for Arvon and Poetry School. Dean's debut poetry collection was shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize. His latest book, The Black Flamingo, follows a mixed-race gay teen as he spreads his wings at university as a drag performer; a bold story about embracing your uniqueness and finding your inner strength.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay