Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • riverrun
  • riverrun
  • riverrun
  • riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A fierce and gripping novel about families, secrets and the impossibility of ever coming home

Two women.
Two stories.
One hundred years of secrets.

'Eloquent and accomplished' Anne Griffin, author of WHEN ALL IS SAID

A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan

1919

Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence.

Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever . . .

2019

Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she's tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her ancestor, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together?

'A gripping novel about two women, their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting . . . a thrill to discover' Belinda McKeon

'A fierce, beautifully written story' Louise O'Neill

Read More Read Less

Praise for A River in the Trees

  • The writing is eloquent and accomplished weaving together the lives of these women in trauma. - Anne Griffin, author of When All Is Said

  • A gripping novel about two women, about their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting, whether on the ground or in their minds. Jacqueline O'Mahony writes brilliantly of what it is like to be in trouble, to be uncertain and alone, and to have to confront hard realities. Compassionate yet unsentimental, sharply insightful yet steeped in story, this debut is a thrill to discover.

  • A fierce, beautifully told story, which keeps the reader gripped until the very last page. Jacqueline O'Mahony is one to watch.

Read More Read Less

Jacqueline O'Mahony

Jacqueline O'Mahony is from, Cork, Ireland. She did her BA in Ireland, her MA at the University of Bologna, and her PhD in History as a Fulbright Scholar at Duke University, and at Boston College. She has worked as a writer, editor and stylist at Tatler, Vogue and the Irish Independent.
She lives in Notting Hill with her husband and three young children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay