Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Memoirs, Prose: non-fiction

An extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O'Farrell the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of THE LAST ACT OF LOVE and WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR.

I AM, I AM, I AM is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's A YEAR OF MAGICAL THINKING.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital.

This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I AM, I AM, I AM is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.

Read More Read Less

Praise for I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

  • O'Farrell has a remarkable ability to convey the texture of human emotion with precision - Observer

  • A rare talent to enthral... It will leave you bereft and wanting more - Sunday Times

  • Genuinely unputdownable...evidence of her place as one of Britain's most engaging contemporary novelists - Literary Review

  • A magnificent novel that is perceptive, profound and page-turning in equal measures. There are few things I look forward to like a Maggie O'Farrell novel and she never disappoints

  • Reviews for Maggie O'Farrell's bestselling fiction: 'A book that surely confirms her as one of the UK's most assured, accomplished and inventive storytellers' - Observer

  • O'Farrell is a skilful, impassioned writer...engaging and fluent - Sunday Telegraph

  • A magnificent novel that is perceptive, profound and page-turning in equal measures. There are few things I look forward to like a Maggie O'Farrell novel and she never disappoints - Cathy Rentzenbrink

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Maggie O'Farrell discussing 'Instructions for a Heatwave'

Right
Left
loading...

Maggie O'Farrell discussing 'Instructions for a Heatwave'

Right

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.