Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Abacus
  • Little, Brown
  • Little, Brown

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine

Pascal Ruter

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A quirky and heartwarming novel, set in France, about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on one last crazy adventure. For fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Three Things About Elsie.

At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he needed to try something new . . .

Everything starts to go south when Napoleon leaves his wife. A former boxer with a restless, youthful spirit, Napoleon decides to say to hell with it all! He wants a new life . . .

Determined to rebel against everything that takes the fun out of life, Napoleon embarks on a moving adventure with his ten-year-old grandson Leonard Sunshine. The chaotic duo adopt a dog, drive a fake taxi, escape to the seaside, sabotage door-to-door salesmen and plot to kidnap a famous radio star.

Above all, Leonard Sunshine is determined to spare his grandfather the fate of the elderly - spending his final years exiled in a retirement home.

From the heart of Paris to the coast of Normandy, The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine is a life-affirming tale of new beginnings and the importance of family. It's about growing up, growing old and saying goodbye. Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove, The Keeper of Lost Thing and The Little Paris Bookshop.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine

  • Aged eighty-five, former boxer Napoleon Sunshine is on a mission. Setting himself (rudely!) against every

  • obstacle in his life, Napoleon leads grandson Leonard and rescue dog Endov in a series of madcap, ultimately moving adventures. It all puts family ties under incredible strain - can they be mended before it's too late? - The People's Friend

Read More Read Less

Pascal Ruter

Pascal Ruter grew up in the southern suburbs of Paris. He is the author of several books for young readers. The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine is his first work of adult fiction. Ruter loves stories above everything, especially ones where the misfortune and severity of life are matched by the absurdity and humour of everyday situations. He currently lives in a tiny village in the middle of the forest of Fontainebleau.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay