Your cart


Total AUD



  • Abacus
  • Abacus

Night Falls On The City: The Lost Masterpiece of Wartime Vienna

Sarah Gainham

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The gripping lost masterpiece novel of wartime Vienna.

Vienna in 1938 is a place of high culture, gilded opera houses and intellectual salons. Beautiful actress Julia Homburg and her politician husband Franz Wedeker embody all the enlightened brilliance of their native city. But Wedeker is Jewish, and just across the border the tanks of the Nazi Reich are primed for the Anschluss.

When the SS invades and disappearances become routine, Franz must be concealed. With daring ingenuity, Julia conjures a hiding place. In the shadow of oppression, a clear conscience is a luxury few can afford, and Julia finds she must strike a series of hateful bargains with the new order if she and her husband are to survive.

A highly acclaimed bestseller when first published in the 1960s, NIGHT FALLS ON THE CITY is a true lost classic, and an unforgettable portrait of wartime.

Read More Read Less

Sarah Gainham

Sarah Gainham was born in London in 1915. She moved to Germany in her early thirties, shortly after the Second World War, and then to Austria, where she remained for over fifty years, working as a novelist and journalist. It is in central Europe that Gainham's early thrillers such as Cold Dark Night, The Stone Roses and Silent Hostage are played out. In 1967 she published Night Falls on the City, her masterpiece novel set in wartime Vienna; it received international acclaim and spent several weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. A Place in the Country and Private Worlds are her sequels to Night Falls on the City. Gainham died in Austria in 1999.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay