Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • C & R Crime
  • C & R Crime

Bones in the Belfry

Suzette Hill

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery

The delightful second crime novel featuring the Reverend Oughtregard and the talking cat Maurice and the dog Bouncer.

Having extricated himself from the embarrassment of murdering his lady parishioner, the Rev. Oughterard is now plunged into the traumas of art theft.

Forced by the shady Nicholas Ingaza into being a fence for stolen paintings, he endures the investigative probings of terrifying female novelist and amateur sleuth, Maud Tubbly Pole, hell-bent on portraying him in her next novel.

Haunted by the recent murder and fearful of exposure in his new role of 'receiver', the Reverend blunders haplessly in a mesh of intrigue and risible deceit. As before, his antics are commented upon by his cat, the acidic Maurice, and redoubtable bone-grinding ally, the dog Bouncer.


Praise for Suzette A. Hill:

'Perfect one-sitting summer read.' Laura Wilson, Guardian

'I think this is tremendous - amusing and professional' Dame Beryl Bainbridge

'E F Benson crossed with Jerome K Jerome' The Times audiobooks review

'This dry, funny British gem, with its eccentric cast of characters, will have readers laughing and eagerly awaiting the next episode' Publishers Weekly

'An intriguingly quirky read! And Maurice the cat is a very clever puss indeed!' Leslie Phillips OBE

Read More Read Less

Praise for Bones in the Belfry

  • Quite why this series should be charming, astringent and witty, instead of emetically twee, I am not sure, but it is entirely delightful. - Guardian

  • There is a feel of Wodehouse about this book...the prose is delicious and I enjoyed every word of it. Highly recommended - Mystery Woman.

  • This is English country life done up Seinfeld style, complete with a gin drinking bull-dog. It should appeal to fans of Martha Grimes, Saki and Wodehouse. - Historical Novel Society.

Read More Read Less

Suzette Hill

A graduate of the universities of Nottingham and Newcastle upon Tyne, Suzette A Hill taught English Literature for many years at Reading College before retiring to Herefordshire where, despite the novel's narrative, she lives convivially with neither dog, cat nor clergyman.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay