Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books

Lonely Graves: Pieter Posthumus Mystery 1

Britta Bolt

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Posthumus Mystery, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

The first in a gripping Dutch crime series which uncovers a side of Amsterdam the tourists don't see; for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Fred Vargas.

The first in the atmospheric Amsterdam-set crime series, which combines the city's old-world charm with contemporary issues of corruption, immigration and crime.

A suicide. A drowned man. A sudden death.
For some people, it's just another day's work.
In Amsterdam, there's a council department known affectionately as the Lonely Funerals team. It exists to arrange burials for the abandoned or unknown dead, with the care and dignity that every life deserves.

Pieter Posthumus hasn't been doing the job long, but he's determined to do it well. He finds that he cares deeply about the people whose files land on his desk.

So when something doesn't seem quite right about a Moroccan immigrant's 'accidental' drowning, Posthumus starts digging.

His quest for justice will lead him down some dangerous paths, and into conflict with some very dangerous men...

Read More Read Less

Praise for Lonely Graves: Pieter Posthumus Mystery 1

  • One of the best thrillers you will read this season. It is a page-turner full of suspense and surprising twists and turns...Phenomena like home-grown terrorism make this novel just that much more exciting. Once I started reading I could not put it down. - Ayaan Hirsi Ali

  • The main character is a very appealing, convincing and enthralling creation with a truly bizarre occupation...As with Morse, the city where the action takes place becomes one of the main characters...a compelling story that leaves you wanting to hear more about Pieter's work and his life - and how the city copes with its marvellous mix of eccentrics and dangers. - We Love This Book

  • Very engaging...Posthumus holds enormous literary appeal - Readings Australia

  • A delicious writing style makes Lonely Graves an outstanding debut - Algemeen Dagblad

  • No typical thriller...Posthumus is a find! - Vrij Nederland

  • An atmospheric and glorious Amsterdam crime story - JAN

Read More Read Less

Britta Bolt

Britta Bolt is the pseudonym of the South African-born novelist and travel writer Rodney Bolt and the German former lawyer Britta Boehler, who has worked on high-profile terrorism and security cases. Britta Bolt was 'born' in January 2010, when Britta Boehler, on holiday and reading her favourite detective fiction, felt the urge to turn her past experience into a novel. Rodney Bolt was at home, writing biographies and travel stories, and dreaming of doing the same. Soon afterwards, they had teamed up to write a crime series set in their beloved adopted city Amsterdam.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay