Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books

Lives Lost: Pieter Posthumus Mystery 2

Britta Bolt

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Posthumus Mystery, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A murder in Amsterdam's red light district leads Posthumus to uncover a tragic tale from the past, in a gripping Dutch crime novel perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Michael Dibdin.

The second in the atmospheric Amsterdam-set crime series, which combines the city's old-world charm with contemporary issues of corruption, immigration and crime.

A minute can make all the difference...

Pieter Posthumus is enjoying a quiet drink in his favourite bar when the screaming starts. A minute later, the owner of the guesthouse next door rushes in: one of her tenants has been murdered.

Marloes, the guesthouse owner, is an odd but kind soul. Posthumus cannot believe it when she is arrested - for both her tenant Zig's murder and another death years before. He knows there are questions unanswered: what is the link between the two cases? Why are people so keen to think Marloes is guilty? And why did Zig paint just one picture every year - a copy of a Dutch master, but with one peculiar twist?

As his investigation progresses, he comes to see that a few minutes can mean all the difference in the world: between saving a life and taking one; between innocence and guilt. And that sometimes asking questions leads to a truth that's hard to bear.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Lives Lost: Pieter Posthumus Mystery 2

  • PRAISE FOR THE SERIES - :

  • Very engaging...Posthumus holds enormous literary appeal - Readings Australia

  • The main character is a very appealing, convincing and enthralling creation with a truly bizarre occupation...As with Morse, the city where the action takes place becomes one of the main characters...a compelling story that leaves you wanting to hear more about Pieter's work and his life - and how the city copes with its marvellous mix of eccentrics and dangers. - We Love This Book

  • A page-turner full of suspense and surprising twists and turns...Phenomena like home-grown terrorism make this novel just that much more exciting. Once I started reading I could not put it down. - Ayaan Hirsi Ali

  • A delicious writing style makes Lonely Graves an outstanding debut - Algemeen Dagblad

  • No typical thriller...Posthumus is a find! - Vrij Nederland

  • An atmospheric and glorious Amsterdam crime story - JAN

Read More Read Less

Britta Bolt

Britta Bolt is the pseudonym of the South African-born novelist and travel writer Rodney Bolt and the German former lawyer Britta Boehler, who has worked on high-profile terrorism and security cases. Britta Bolt was 'born' in January 2010, when Britta Boehler, on holiday and reading her favourite detective fiction, felt the urge to turn her past experience into a novel. Rodney Bolt was at home, writing biographies and travel stories, and dreaming of doing the same. Soon afterwards, they had teamed up to write a crime series set in their beloved adopted city Amsterdam.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay