Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Two Roads
  • John Murray
  • Two Roads

The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

Janet Skeslien Charles

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical fiction

Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

IN THE DARKNESS OF WAR, THE LIGHT OF BOOKS
'I devoured The Paris Library in one hungry gulp . . . charming and moving' Tatiana de Rosnay, author of Sarah's Key 'An irresistible, compelling read' Fiona Davis, author of The Chelsea Girls

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is the unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together.
PARIS, 1939 Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and working at The American Library in Paris for the formidable director Dorothy Reeder is all she has ever dreamed of. The Library and its thriving community of students, writers, diplomats and book lovers provide her with a safe haven. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes. The Nazi 'Library Protector' changes the rules overnight, declaring a war on words and making the librarians risk their lives to do their jobs.

Under the courageous guidance of Miss Reeder, Odile and her fellow librarians defy the authorities to make sure all their subscribers, even those deemed no longer desirable, get access to books and remain part of their community, whatever the cost.

Choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many of the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.

The Paris Library illuminates a seldom-seen slice of history: the role of women and their fate during the war. It also recounts the consequences of unspeakable betrayal, when the people we count on for understanding and protection fail us.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Paris Library: a novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

  • A fresh take on WWII France that will appeal to bibliophiles everywhere. I fell in love with Odile and Lily, with their struggles and triumphs, from the very first page. Meticulously researched, The Paris Library is an irresistible, compelling read. - Fiona Davis, author of THE CHELSEA GIRLS

  • As a Parisian, an ardent bookworm , and a longtime fan of the American Library in Paris, I devoured The Paris Library in one hungry gulp. It is charming and moving, with a perfect balance between history and fiction. - Tatiana de Rosnay, author of SARAH'S KEY

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay