Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Lothian Children's Books
  • Lothian Children's Books

Resources

Cranky Chicken

Katherine Battersby

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Comic strip fiction / graphic novels (Children's /

Gallery

What happens when a very cranky chicken meets a very cheerful worm? Perfect for newly independent readers, this is the first extremely funny story in a charming illustrated series about an unlikely friendship that will warm your heart and make you laugh.

Everything about Chicken is cranky. Cranky eyes, cranky eyebrows, super-sharp cranky beak, even cranky scratchy feet. And everything makes Chicken cranky. The sun is too bright, the dirt is too dirty. What Cranky Chicken is not is lonely. Nope, nope, definitely not. But then along comes a very cheerful worm named Speedy, who just wants to be friends.
The first book in a charming illustrated series about mismatched friends who bring joy, companionship and a new perspective to each other's lives. Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie and The Bad Guys.

Read More Read Less

Resources

Praise for Cranky Chicken

  • A curmudgeonly chicken and sprightly worm become unlikely BFFs ("Best Feathered Friends") in this likable early reader comic in five parts by Battersby (Trouble). With a bold red unibrow and "cranky scratchy feet," Cranky Chicken opens the story grumbling. Grumpily kicking at a leaf, the fowl unintentionally frees Speedy, a plump, teal worm, stuck underneath. Speedy, whose bubbly demeanor is the antithesis of Cranky's, sees the chicken as a hero who has vanquished "the evil leaf"-and through cheerful persistence cracks the crabby hen's tough facade. ("So you like me? Even though I'm cranky?" asks the "Queen of Crank." "Especially because you're cranky," Speedy replies.) United by their prior inexperience with friendship, the pair spend later sections sharing secrets, attempting flight (with Speedy as "wing worm"), and generally learning to support one another. Interspersed are paneled round-ups, including possibilities for why a chicken might really cross the road, a tutorial on how to be cranky, and "famous dirt drawings" of "Speedy: the fastest draw in the West." In pale jewel tones, Battersby's simple panels feel breezy and contemporary; the comic companionship she develops between two complete opposites couldn't be more endearing. Ages 6-9. - Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay