Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Oculta: A Forgery of Magic Bk 2

Maya Motayne

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Interest age: from c 14 years, Fantasy

A THIEF MADE A LORD. A PRINCE MADE A VILLAIN. A DEADLY GAME FOR POWER.

The exhilarating sequel to the LatinX Sunday Times bestseller Nocturna, about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must reunite when a deadly enemy threatens their kingdom's chance at establishing a global peace.

After joining forces to save Castallan from an ancient magical evil, Alfie and Finn haven't seen each other in months. Alfie is finally stepping up to his role as heir and preparing for an International Peace Summit, while Finn is traveling and reveling in her newfound freedom from Ignacio.

That is, until she's unexpectedly installed as the new leader of one of Castallan's powerful crime families. Now one of the four Thief Lords of Castallan, she's forced to preside over the illegal underground Oculta competition, which coincides with the summit and boasts a legendary prize.

Just when Finn finds herself back in San Cristobal, Alfie's plans are also derailed. Los Toros, the mysterious syndicate responsible for his brother's murder, has resurfaced-and their newest target is the summit. And when these events all unexpectedly converge, Finn and Alfie are once again forced to work together to follow the assassins' trail and preserve Castallan's hopes for peace with Englass.

But will they be able to stop these sinister foes before a new war threatens their kingdom?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Oculta: A Forgery of Magic Bk 2

  • An exhilarating adventure, bursting with lively, inventive magic and characters who charmed me the instant they appeared on the page. If you want to get swept up in a story, pick this one - NYT bestselling author Margaret Rogerson

  • This fantasy set in a Latinx kingdom explores the lasting effects of childhood trauma, the destructive potential of grief, and the redemptive power of love . . . the stakes are high, Finn and Alfie's reluctant attraction rings true, and a gratifying conclusion paves the way for book two. - Publishers Weekly

  • Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes or VE Schwab's A Darker Shade of Magic, Nocturna similarly delivers a richly-imagined world steeped in magic and adventure and it deserves to be embraced by fans of YA fantasy the world over - CultureFly

  • Utterly amazing . . . The world Maya created is unique and rich, and her vivid take on magic absolutely blew me away. It is so individual and beautiful, a step above the magic we see in so many YA books. Maya's lyrical writing and world-building were reminiscent of Laini Taylor. - Midnight Book Girl

Read More Read Less

Maya Motayne

Maya Motayne previously worked as an editorial assistant at Penguin Random House US and is passionate about bringing diverse stories to the forefront of young adult literature. She helped found the Random House Children's Books Diversity Committee. Nocturna is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay