Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit

Charming

Elliott James

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Fantasy

He comes from a line of Charmings - an illustrious family of dragon slayers, witch-finders and killers dating back to before the fall of Rome. Trained by a modern day version of the Knights Templar, monster hunters who have updated their methods from chain mail and crossbows to Kevlar and shotguns, John Charming was one of the best - until a curse made him one of the abominations the Knights were sworn to hunt.

That was a lifetime ago. Now, John tends bar under an assumed name in rural Virginia and leads a peaceful, quiet life. That is, until a vampire and a blonde walked into his bar. . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Charming

  • Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining. - Kevin Hearne, author of Hounded

  • I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in. - New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire

  • James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into. - Richard Kadrey

  • In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds... This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco. - Booklist

  • "Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways. John Charming comes from a prominent line of dragon slayers, witch-finders and killers trained by the Knights Templar, but now he has a problem: He has become what they hunt. James' reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James! - RT Book Reviews

  • This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-faul

Read More Read Less