Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

Megan Bannen

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy romance

A quirky fantasy with a rom-com premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and fans of The Princess Bride.

'Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before. . . an absolutely stunning story' Lana Harper, author of Payback's a Witch
The Princess Bride meets You've Got Mail in this enchantingly quirky, completely refreshing fantasy with a rom-com-worthy premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library.

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the magical wilds of Tanria. It's an unforgiving job, and he's got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She's been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart-ache Hart, the man with a knack for showing up right when her patience is thinnest.

After yet another run-in with Merciless Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to "A Friend". Much to his surprise, he received an anonymous reply, and a tentative friendship is born. Little does Hart know he's baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most. . .

Set in a world equally full of magic and demigods as it is donuts and small-town drama, this utterly unique fantasy is sure to sweep you off your feet.

Praise for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy:

'The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year' Jen DeLuca, author of Well Met

'A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over' Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

'Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!' Sierra Simone

'An unabashedly offbeat adventure' Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

'A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty' Olivia Atwater, author of Half a Soul

'Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last page' Manda Collins 'A truly outstanding romantic fantasy' India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

'A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and e
Read More Read Less

Praise for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

  • A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty

Read More Read Less

Megan Bannen

Megan Bannen is a former librarian and a full-time writer. While most of her professional career has been spent behind the reference desk, she has also sold luggage, written grants, collected a few graduate degrees from various Kansas state universities, and taught English at home and abroad. She lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, two sons, and a lot of pets.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay