Your cart


Total AUD



  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre

Crossing The Lines

Melvyn Bragg

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Prose: non-fiction, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The much-praised third part of 'a monumental series' (Sunday Times) by an 'aristocrat of English fiction' (Sunday Telegraph)

Set in Britain during the 1950s, this moving and evocative novel follows the intertwined fates of people crossing boundaries in their lives. As a teenager in the small northern town of Wigton, Joe Richardson falls in love with Rachel, just when her life is about to be uprooted. While his parents, Sam and Ellen, face the frontiers of middle age, Joe finds himself drawn by the intoxicating world outside home, and swept into situations that seem beyond his control. Vividly conveying the spirit of the mid-century and the profound social changes taking place at the time, this is a masterly successor to the award-winning THE SOLDIER'S RETURN and A SON OF WAR.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Crossing The Lines

  • An expertly told tale which is satisfying in its own right and as a continuation of a monumental series. - Frank Egerton, The Times

  • Enthralling, a joy to read ... immensely satisfying, written with honesty and imagination ... [it] enriches the reader's life. - Allan Massie, Scotsman

  • I was bowled over by it ... an enormously important piece of literature about post-war Britain. - A.C. Grayling, Guardian

  • Richly detailed and extraordinarily poignant ... Melvyn Bragg is slowly cementing his place among the aristocrats of English fiction. - David Robson, Sunday Telegraph

  • Sharp yet tender, it is an astonishingly confident, slowly unreeled account - Rosemary Goring, Glasgow Herald

Read More Read Less

Melvyn Bragg

Melvyn Bragg is a writer and broadcaster whose first novel, For Want of a Nail, was published in 1965. His novels since include The Maid of Buttermere, The Soldier's Return, A Son of War, Credo and Now is the Time, which won the Parliamentary Book Award for fiction in 2016. His books have also been awarded the Time/Life Silver Pen Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and the WHSmith Literary Award, and have been longlisted three times for the Booker Prize (including the Lost Man Booker Prize).
He has also written several works of non-fiction, including The Adventure of English and The Book of Books about the King James Bible.
He lives in London and Cumbria.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay