Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Graveyards

Peter Ross

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Sociology: death & dying

Orwell Prize-nominated journalist Peter Ross uncovers the stories and glories of graveyards.

'In his absorbing book about the lost and the gone, Peter Ross takes us from Flanders Fields to Milltown to Kensal Green, to melancholy islands and surprisingly lively ossuaries . . . a considered and moving book on the timely subject of how the dead are remembered, and how they go on working below the surface of our lives.' - Hilary Mantel

'Never has a book about death been so full of life. James Joyce and Charles Dickens would've loved it - a book that reveals much gravity in the humour and many stories in the graveyard. It also reveals Peter Ross to be among the best non-fiction writers in the country.'
- Andrew O'Hagan 'His stories are always a joy' - Ian Rankin 'I'm a card-carrying admirer of Peter Ross' - Robert Macfarlane 'A startling, delight-filled tour of graveyards and the people who love them, dazzlingly told.' - Denise Mina 'A phenomenal, lyrical, beautiful book.' - Frank Turner


For readers of The Salt Path, Mudlarking, Ghostland, Kathleen Jamie and Robert Macfarlane.

Enter a grave new world of fascination and delight as award-winning writer Peter Ross uncovers the stories and glories of graveyards. Who are London's outcast dead and why is David Bowie their guardian angel? What is the remarkable truth about Phoebe Hessel, who disguised herself as a man to fight alongside her sweetheart, and went on to live in the reigns of five monarchs? Why is a Bristol cemetery the perfect wedding venue for goths?

All of these sorrowful mysteries - and many more - are answered in A Tomb With A View, a book for anyone who has ever wandered through a field of crooked headstones and wondered about the lives and deaths of those who lie beneath.

So push open the rusting gate, push back the ivy, and take a look inside...

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Graveyards

  • In his absorbing book about the lost and the gone, Peter Ross takes us from Flanders Fields to Milltown to Kensal Green, to melancholy islands and surprisingly lively ossuaries, [showing] us how cemeteries are "gyms for the imagination". But this is much more than a collection of anecdotes, grim and jolly. It is a considered and moving book on the timely subject of how the dead are remembered, and how they go on working below the surface of our lives. - Hilary Mantel

  • Never has a book about death been so full of life. James Joyce and Charles Dickens would've loved it - a book that reveals much gravity in the humour and many stories in the graveyard. It also reveals Peter Ross to be among the best non-fiction writers in the country. - Andrew O'Hagan

  • I'm a card-carrying admirer of Peter Ross - Robert Macfarlane

  • His stories are always a joy - Ian Rankin

  • A startling, delight-filled tour of graveyards and the people who love them, dazzlingly told. - Denise Mina

  • A phenomenal, lyrical, beautiful book - Frank Turner

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay