Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War

Tim Clayton

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Prose: non-fiction, History

The extraordinary story of a close-knit team of sailors at the cutting edge of the 18th century navy - HORNBLOWER meets BAND OF BROTHERS.

TARS is a gripping firsthand account of life in the Royal Navy at its bloodiest and most temptestuous phase, beginning in 1758. Through the lives of the main protagonists - a small band of sailors from across the ranks - TRAFALGAR author Tim Clayton paints a vivid picture of the navy and the era, from close-quarter battles and roistering on the streets of London to the political decisions that built up and knocked down empires.

In this death-or-glory era the navy became the main weapon of an aggressive and power-hungry government, and fighting at sea was carried out at ever-closer quarters and with ever-increasing amounts of firepower. Using never-before published first-person sources, TARS takes us through these men's daily struggles as Britain navigated her course on the political map.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War

  • engaging and original, Tars is an impressive book that deserves a wide readership. - International Journal of Maritime History

  • 'Ideal for fans of Patrick O'Brien' - Bookseller

  • Excellent . . . comprehensively researched, vividly written and judiciously argued. Wonderfully detailed pen portraits . . . Much new material from French and Spanish sources gives a rounded picture . . . it is this perspective from both sides of the battle that makes the book so compelling. - Saul David, Daily Telegraph on TRAFALGAR

  • A landmark book. - Observer on TRAFALGAR

  • Vivid and compelling . . . an account of significant importance. - Naval Review on TRAFALGAR

  • Accessible, well researched, and a true literary masterpiece. - Mountbatten Maritime Award

Read More Read Less

Tim Clayton

Tim Clayton was educated at Cambridge University where he specialised in the graphic satire of James Gillray. He is the award winning and bestselling author of a number of books on naval and military history, including the winner of the 2008 Mountbatten Literary Award, Tars, and the critically acclaimed Trafalgar and Waterloo. Tim is also an Associate Fellow of the University of Warwick and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. He worked at the British Museum as co-curator of the exhibition Bonaparte and the British, which marked the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay