Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

The Garden of Small Beginnings

Abbi Waxman

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Life is about to blossom for Lili . . . A brilliantly funny and emotional novel about love, life and friendship, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Diamond.

'A feel-good, hate-to-put-it-down, kind of book!' ChickLit Central

Life is about to blossom for Lili . . .

In the three years since her husband died in a car accident, Lili has just about managed to resume her day-to-day life as a single mother and successful illustrator. She can now get her two girls to school, show up to work and watch TV like a pro. But there's still the small problem of the aching loss she feels inside.

When she's commissioned to illustrate a series of horticultural books, and signs up to a weekly gardening class, finally her life starts to bloom again.

The class provides Lili with a new network of unexpected friends - friends with their own heartaches and problems - and, maybe, another chance at love . . .

'Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely' Katie Fforde

_____

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Wilde Like Me will fall in love with this gloriously funny and uplifting novel about friendship, love and grabbing life by the roots.

'A cosy, life-affirming read' Cathy Hopkins

'Witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest' Heidi Swain

'Funny and uplifting' Good Housekeeping

'Filled with characters you'll love and wish you lived next door to in real life' Bustle

'Waxman's voice is witty, emotional and often profound' InStyle

'A quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book' hellogiggles
'Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful' Emily Giffin, author of First Comes Love

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Garden of Small Beginnings

  • Waxman has given us a grow bag full of emotion - witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest - Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at Skylark Farm

  • Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely - Katie Fforde, number one bestselling author of A Country Escape

  • This novel is filled with characters you'll love and wish you lived next door to in real life - Bustle

  • It's impossible not to fall in love with Lilian, a young widow who is still trying to come to terms with the death of her husband four years later. . . . If you are thinking to yourself 'forget it, I'm not reading a gardening book'- don't worry . . . THIS IS NOT A GARDENING BOOK! It IS, however, a feel-good, hate-to-put-it- down, kind-of-book! - ChickLit Central

  • A cosy, life-affirming read - Cathy Hopkins, author of The Kicking the Bucket List

  • A young widow is just about holding her life together when she's persuaded to enrol on a gardening course. Down among the weeds and worms she find purpose and friendship . . . a funny and uplifting debut novel - Good Housekeeping

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

How to create your own Garden of Small Beginnings

Right
Left
loading...

How to create your own Garden of Small Beginnings

Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay