Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • C & R Crime
  • C & R Crime

Everyone Lies

A.D. Garrett

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Di Kate Simms, Fiction, Crime & mystery

Everyone Lies has proved a hit in hardback with both authors appearing on BBC TV. This fast-paced action crime thriller teams science, forensics and plot.

DI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have. She's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since. Professor Nick Fennimore is a failed genetics student, successful gambler, betting agent, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and one-time scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.

In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten and all identifying features removed. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Everyone Lies

  • This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate.

  • A throat-clutcher from page one. Everyone Lies is a pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. A. D. Garrett has done for Manchester what The Wire did for Baltimore. And our central characters, Simms and Fennimore, are complex, compelling and just plain marvellous.

  • Awesome...What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut.

  • A collaboration between a thriller writer and a forensic scientist produces a police procedural which promises well for the future of the partnership and provides a good read. - Bookbag

  • A marriage made in crime fiction heaven. - CrimeFictionLover

  • [An] outstanding collaborative debut, which balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation. . . . The brisk plot never strays with its complex exploration of prostitutes and crime lords and its affecting look at Kate and Nick s complicated relationship. - Publishers Weekly

  • 'The backstory between Fennimore and Simms is tantalizingly glossed over, adding tension to the story, as readers attempt to work out the tension between the characters. This gritty British thriller will appeal to fans of Ken Bruen and Val McDermid. - Booklist

  • The pseudonymous pair who write as Garrett skillfully weave just enough of the crime-solving partners past and hints about a more hopeful future to add even more suspense to the fast-paced plot. - Kirkus Reviews

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay