Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

The Golden Tresses of the Dead

Alan Bradley

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

Cosy crime historical mysteries featuring Flavia de Luce - the teenage amateur sleuth you'll never forget. Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz' MAGPIE MURDERS and Agatha Christie's MISS MRPLE.

Flavia de Luce, the twelve-year-old chemist and amateur detective is eager to turn professional. She and her father's valet, Dogger, have founded a detective agency, Arthur Dogger & Associates, and unexpectedly cut into their first case during the revelry at her sister Ophelia's wedding reception.

After an eventful ceremony with a missing best man and spontaneous ventriloquist act, spirits are high as Feely and her new husband head for the towering and beautifully iced wedding cake. But as Feely slices into the first piece, a scream rings out - the bridal cake contains a severed human finger.

Delighted, Flavia wraps the finger in a napkin and whisks it away to her chemical laboratory. By studying the embalmed skin, the indentation of a ring, and the slope of the fingernail, she'll not only be able to determine the identity of the victim - but also point a finger at a killer.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Golden Tresses of the Dead

  • The Flavia de Luce novels are a cult favourite. - Mail on Sunday

  • Flavia is mercilessly addictive. - Daily Telegraph

  • At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference. - Choice

  • This is a clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises. - Essentials

  • The 1950s frame is aptly set with a wealth of period details, including the quaint village of Bishop's Lacey, with its vicarage and altar guild, and Flavia's old-fashioned bicycle named Gladys. Despite the novel's patently improbable plot, Flavia's over-the-top use of alliteration and proudly precocious, sesquipedalian vocabulary, along with the thoroughly endearing cast of characters, make this series' tenth installment a laugh-out-loud winner. - Starred Booklist

  • A best-selling international crime author, (...) Alan Bradley is famous for his series of books, featuring the character Flavia de Luce - Manx Independent

Read More Read Less

Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley was born into a family of storytellers who never stopped talking about the old days 'back home' in England - for which he is eternally grateful. He is a former professor at the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. Alan is the author of a memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE in addition to the bestselling Flavia de Luce series. He lives with his wife, Shirley, in the Isle of Man.

To find out more, visit www.flaviadeluce.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay