Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: The gripping ninth novel in the cosy Flavia De Luce series

Alan Bradley

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Flavia De Luce Mystery, Crime & mystery, Classic crime, Historical mysteries

Cosy crime historical mysteries featuring Flavia de Luce - the teenage amateur sleuth you'll never forget. Perfect for fans of Midsomer Murders and Agatha Christie's Miss Marple.

Sunny skies, sleep water...and a sinister corpse

Flavia is enjoying the summer, spending her days punting along the river with her reluctant family. Languishing in boredom, she drags a slack hand in the water, and catches her fingers in the open mouth of a drowned corpse.

Brought to shore, the dead man is found to be dressed in blue silk with ribbons at the knee, and wearing a single red ballet slipper.

Flavia needs to put her super-sleuthing skills to the test to investigate the murder of three gossips in the local church, and to keep her sisters out of danger. But what could possibly connect the son of an executed killer, a far too canny police constable, a travelling circus, and the publican's mysteriously talented wife?

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday

'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: The gripping ninth novel in the cosy Flavia De Luce series

  • The Flavia de Luce novels are a cult favourite. - Mail on Sunday

  • Flavia is mercilessly addictive. - Daily Telegraph

  • At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference. - Choice

  • This is a clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises. - Essentials

Read More Read Less

Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley was born into a family of storytellers who never stopped talking about the old days 'back home' in England - for which he is eternally grateful. He is a former professor at the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. Alan is the author of a memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE in addition to the bestselling Flavia de Luce series. He lives with his wife, Shirley, in the Isle of Man.

To find out more, visit www.flaviadeluce.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay