Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books

A Million Aunties: An emotional, feel-good novel about friendship, community and family

Alecia McKenzie

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

'An elegantly written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction.' Bernardine Evaristo, Booker Prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other

An emotional, tender and funny novel from award-winning author Alecia McKenzie that asks, what does family mean to you?

Seeking solitude after a personal tragedy upends his world, artist Chris travels to his mother's homeland, Jamaica, in a bid to find peace. He expects to spend his time painting in solitude, coming to terms with his loss and the fractured relationship with his father. Instead, he discovers a new extended and complicated 'family' with their own startling stories. Can they help him to become whole again?

Told from different points of view, this is an utterly compelling and deeply relatable novel from the winner of two Commonwealth literary prizes. Fans of Girl, Woman, Other and The Vanishing Half will love this book about friendship, community, chosen family, and healing after trauma.

What readers are saying about A Million Aunties:

'Have you ever not wanted a book to end? Were disappointed that the characters are gone from your life?... Makes you yearn for more.' New York Journal of Books

'An absolute delight!... Trust me - if you enjoy character-driven, multicultural fiction, you're going to want to get your hands on this book ASAP.' Reader review

'Emotional, enthralling and heartfelt... A story of loss and the infinite types of love."
Woman's World

'Pulls you in and holds you right till the end. It's strongly written with a delicate touch.' New West Indian Guide

'Tender... An emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience.' New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice

'This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty.' Publishers Weekly

'A beautiful book for anyone who knows there is more to family than blood relations.' Book Culture

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Million Aunties: An emotional, feel-good novel about friendship, community and family

  • A Million Aunties is an elegantly-written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction

  • Under her deceptively revealing title, Alecia McKenzie recreates Jamaica's enduring traditions in fresh and illuminating ways that make this one of the most avant garde fictions I have read in a long time

  • Alecia McKenzie's tender new novel is an emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience - New York Times

  • This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay