Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder & Stoughton

Rape of the Fair Country: The Mortymer Trilogy Book One

Alexander Cordell

Write Review

Rated 0

The Mortymer Trilogy, Fiction, Historical fiction

The first volume in Alexander Cordell's classic trilogy of mid-nineteenth century Wales.

Set in the grim valleys of the Welsh iron country during the turbulent times of
the Industrial Revolution, this unforgettable novel begins the saga of the Mortymer
family - a family of hard men and beautiful women, all forced into a bitter
struggle with their harsh environment, as they slave and starve for the cruel
English ironmasters.

But adversity could never still the free spirit of Wales, or quiet its soaring voice,
and the Mortymers struggle on even as the iron foundries ravish their homeland
and cripple their people.

Rape of the Fair Country launched the bestselling career of Alexander Cordell
in 1959 and went on to sell millions of copies in seventeen languages throughout
the world.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay