Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

Mortal Follies: A devilishly funny Regency romantasy from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material

Alexis Hall

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy romance, Historical romance

If you've ever wanted your regularly scheduled Bridgerton binge just a little (or a lot) more queer with a little (or a lot) more magic... look no further.

A young noblewoman must join forces with a rumoured witch to conquer an ancient curse in this devilishly funny and heartwarming sapphic Regency romantasy from TikTok titan and bestselling author of Boyfriend Material Alexis Hall - unmissable for fans of Juno Dawson's Her Majesty's Royal Coven, Sophie Irwin's A Lady's Guide to Fortune Hunting, and Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light.

It is the year 1814 and Miss Maelys Mitchelmore finds her entry into the highest society of Bath hindered by an irritating curse. It begins innocuously enough, with her dress slowly unmaking itself over the course of an evening at the ball of the season, a scandal she only narrowly manages to escape.

However, as the curse progresses to more fatal proportions, she realises she must seek out urgent assistance, even if that means mixing with the most undesirable company-and there are few less desirable allies than the brooding Lady Georgiana Landrake-who may or may not have murdered her own father and brothers to inherit their fortune.

If one is to believe the gossip, she might be some kind of malign enchantress.
Then again, a malign enchantress might be exactly what Miss Mitchelmore needs.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Mortal Follies: A devilishly funny Regency romantasy from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material

  • A lovely, pitch-perfect romance, with an alternate Regency setting that is well developed and has tremendous charm... Part historical, part fantasy, all top-notch queer romance - KIRKUS REVIEWS (starred review)

  • A fresh and delightful addition to the queer romance canon... All the interpersonal drama of Jane Austen meets all the complex treachery of Greek mythology - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review)

  • Whimsically wonderful, witty writing that evokes Jane Austen and Oscar Wilde... An effervescent, genre-blurring romantic confection - BOOKLIST

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay