Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland

The Weekend Dad

Alison Walsh

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings.

'Would you like to see some pictures?'
'I'd love to.' After all, what father wouldn't want to see pictures of his daughter? A father who was scared, that's who.
I'm not a grown-up. I'm really not. I don't have a job, or savings, or a pension. I don't have a wife or a dog, a car or a house. But I do, suddenly, have a daughter.

Six weeks ago, Emmett became a father - to seven-year-old girl Misty. Leaving Dublin for London to bond with the daughter he never knew existed seems like the right thing to do, though he's not quite sure how he fits into Misty's life, or her mother's. When Emmett knew Amanda they were both students. Today, she's a successful career woman with proper plans for her future - and he's a struggling poet, trying to connect with his daughter during their awkward weekend visits.
But then Amanda surprises Emmett with an unexpected proposition, and he finds himself with some big decisions to make . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Weekend Dad

  • A powerful story ... Walsh shows an innate understanding of people's lives, and the emotional truths that underpin them - Kathleen MacMahon on All That I Leave Behind

  • Beautifully told - Sunday Independent on All That I Leave Behind

Read More Read Less