Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland

The Weekend Dad

Alison Walsh

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Life is like that: just when you think you have it all under control, it comes crashing down around you.

Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings.

'Would you like to see some pictures?'
'I'd love to.' After all, what father wouldn't want to see pictures of his daughter? A father who was scared, that's who.
I'm not a grown-up. I'm really not. I don't have a job, or savings, or a pension. I don't have a wife or a dog, a car or a house. But I do, suddenly, have a daughter.

Six weeks ago, Emmett became a father - to seven-year-old girl Misty. Leaving Dublin for London to bond with the daughter he never knew existed seems like the right thing to do, though he's not quite sure how he fits into Misty's life, or her mother's. When Emmett knew Amanda they were both students. Today, she's a successful career woman with proper plans for her future - and he's a struggling poet, trying to connect with his daughter during their awkward weekend visits.
But then Amanda surprises Emmett with an unexpected proposition, and he finds himself with some big decisions to make . . .

Read More Read Less