Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books

Nothing More Dangerous

Allen Eskens

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

A coming-of-age story from the award-winning author of The Lives We Bury and The Shadows We Hide.

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours - a black family in a community where notions of "us" and "them" still carry weight - Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted.

Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold. There's the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle.

But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world.

As the mystery of Lida's fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town -- and he will be forced to choose sides.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Nothing More Dangerous

  • Praise for Allen Eskens - -

  • Elegant but chilly prose, like winter in the blood

  • - New York Times Book Review

  • A taut, intelligent, heart-ripping story that explores the darkest places in the human psyche

  • Satisfying in every way. I loved it

  • The tension builds to an all-stops-out finale that works on every level. Thriller fans should keep their eyes on Eskens - Booklist

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay