Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Fleet
  • Fleet

Sea Wife

Amity Gaige

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Lionel Shriver, Kate Atkinson, and Jennifer Egan

From the highly acclaimed author of SCHRODER, a smart, sophisticated literary page turner about a young family who escape suburbia for a year-long sailing trip that upends all of their lives Juliet is failing to juggle motherhood and her anemic dissertation when her husband, Michael, informs her that he wants to leave his job and buy a sailboat. The couple are novice sailors, but Michael persuades Juliet to say yes. With their two kids - Sybil, age seven, and George, age two, Juliet and Michael set off for Panama, where their forty-four-foot sailboat awaits them - a boat that Michael has christened the Juliet.

The initial result is transformative: their marriage is given a gust of energy, and even the children are affected by the beauty and wonderful vertigo of travel. The sea challenges them all - and most of all, Juliet, who suffers from postpartum depression.

SEA WIFE is told in gripping dual perspectives: Juliet's first-person narration, after the journey, as she struggles to come to terms with the dire, life-changing events that unfolded at sea; and Michael's captain's log - that provides a riveting, slow-motion account of those same inexorable events.

Exuberant, harrowing, witty, and exquisitely written, SEA WIFE is impossible to put down.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay