Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Hachette Audio
  • Orbit

The Bone Shard Daughter: The Drowning Empire Book One

Andrea Stewart

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

An unmissable debut from a major new voice in fantasy, The Bone Shard Daughter is by turns intimate, epic and thrilling - a triumph of storytelling perfect for fans of The City of Brass, The Poppy War and Empire of Sand

'One of the best fantasy novels I've read in a long time...This book is truly special' Sarah J. Maas

Magic. Revolution. Identity.

The Emperor's reign has lasted for decades, his mastery of bone shard magic powering the animal-like constructs that maintain law and order. But now his rule is failing, and revolution is sweeping across the Empire's many islands.

Lin is the Emperor's daughter and she spends her days trapped in a palace of locked doors and dark secrets. When her father refuses to recognise her as heir to the throne, she vows to prove her worth by mastering the forbidden art of bone shard magic.

Yet such power carries a great cost, and when the revolution reaches the gates of the palace, Lin must decide how far she is willing to go to claim her birthright - and save her people.

The Bone Shard Daughter is an unmissable fantasy debut - a captivating tale of magic, revolution and mystery, where a young woman's sense of identity will make or break an empire.

'A bold, ambitious debut' M. R. Carey

'Epic fantasy at its most human and heartfelt . . . inventive, adventurous and wonderfully written' Alix E. Harrow

'Brilliant world-building, deep intrigue and incredible heart' Megan E. O'Keefe

'Action-packed, must-read epic fantasy . . . One of the best debut fantasy novels of the year' Buzzfeed

'This brilliant fantasy debut has announced Andrea Stewart as quite possibly the best newcomer of the year' Novel Notions


The Drowning Empire series
The Bone Shard Daughter
The Bone Shard Emperor (November '21)
The Bone Shard War (coming 2022)

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Bone Shard Daughter: The Drowning Empire Book One

  • One of the best fantasy novels I've read in a long time . . .This book is truly special

  • The Bone Shard Daughter is epic fantasy at its most human and heartfelt, concerned with the real lives caught in the gears of empire and rebellion. Inventive, adventurous and wonderfully written

  • A fascinating and dangerous world . . . utterly absorbing. I adored it

  • A complex and dark tapestry of a fantasy woven through with brilliant world-building, deep intrigue and incredible heart

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

7 Must-Read Sci-Fi and Fantasy Debut Novels

Right
Left
loading...

7 Must-Read Sci-Fi and Fantasy Debut Novels

Right

Andrea Stewart

Andrea Stewart is the Chinese American daughter of immigrants, and was raised in a number of places across the United States. When her (admittedly ambitious) dreams of becoming a dragon slayer didn't pan out, she instead turned to writing books. She now lives in sunny California.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay