Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

The Only Child

Andrew Pyper

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense, Horror & ghost stories

A psychotic criminal patient claims he personally inspired literature's most famous monsters, and forensic psychiatrist Dr. Dominick must risk everything to find out the truth - the terrifying new thriller for fans of Stephen King, Lauren Beukes and Gillian Flynn.

'One of the most talented successors to Stephen King' - DAILY MAIL

A psychotic patient with two impossible claims.
A leading forensic psychiatrist on the edge.
It's not just Dr. Dominick's career that's in danger...

Forensic psychiatrist Dr. Lily Dominick has evaluated the mental states of some of the country's most dangerous psychotics. But today's client - a man with no name, accused of the most twisted crime - struck her as different from the others, despite the two impossible claims he made.

First, that he is more than two hundred years old and personally inspired Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley and Robert Louis Stevenson in creating the three novels of the nineteenth-century that define the monstrous in the modern imagination.

Second, that he's her father.

To discover the truth behind her client, Dr. Dominick must embark on a journey that will threaten her career, her sanity, and ultimately her life.

Taut, terrifying and impossible to put down, THE ONLY CHILD is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and Stephen King.

Praise for Andrew Pyper:
'One of the most talented successors to Stephen King' - DAILY MAIL
'A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel' - GILLIAN FLYNN, author of Gone Girl
'Pyper is a master architect of dread' - LAUREN BEUKES, author of The Shining Girls
'Genuinely terrifying' - SJ WATSON, author of Before I Go To Sleep
'Readers will undoubtedly make comparisons to Stephen King' LIBRARY JOURNAL

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Only Child

  • Praise for THE ONLY CHILD by Andrew Pyper, the taut, terrifying thriller for fans of Lauren Beukes and Stephen King:

  • 'One of the most talented successors to Stephen King' - DAILY MAIL

  • A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel. Pyper's gift is that he deeply respects his readers, yet still insists on reducing them to quivering children - GILLIAN FLYNN, bestselling author of Gone Girl and Sharp Objects

  • Pyper is a master architect of dread ... Compulsive and nerve-jangling - LAUREN BEUKES, bestselling author of The Shining Girls

  • Genuinely terrifying, don't-read-late-at-night stuff. Thrilling, compelling and beautifully written - SJ WATSON, bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep

  • Cleverly re-imagines the 19th century gothic classics while spinning a thrilling, touching, and distinctly 21st century monster story - PAUL TREMBLAY, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock

  • Pyper is the most striking Canadian writer to emerge in recent years - MAIL ON SUNDAY

Read More Read Less

Andrew Pyper

Andrew Pyper was born in Stratford, Ontario. He received a BA and an MA in English Literature from McGill University in Montreal, as well as a law degree from the University of Toronto. Although called to the bar in 1996, he has never practised law.
Andrew is the author of a string of bestselling novels, including LOST GIRLS, which won the Arthur Ellis Award, and THE DEMONOLOGIST, which won the 2014 International Thriller Writers Award for Best Hardcover Novel.
Find out more at www.andrewpyper.com or follow him on Twitter @andrewpyper

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay