Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

Vigil: Verity Fassbinder Book 1

Angela Slatter

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Verity Fassbinder, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Fantasy

From award-winning author Angela Slatter comes her first full length novel, VIGIL, where the normal and the weyrd combine.

'Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre' - British Fantasy Society.

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Milhone.

Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds.

The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength - and the ability to walk between us and the other - as a couple of her talents. As such a rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace between both races, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden from us.

But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those Weyrd who hold with the old ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.

And Verity must investigate - or risk ancient forces carving our world apart.

VIGIL is the first book in award-winning author Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Vigil: Verity Fassbinder Book 1

  • Angela Slatter is an Australian author who spins beautiful yarns in a musical, fascinating narrative style - SFSite

  • One of the most important voices in fantasy - SF Signal

  • Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She conjures ghosts and spirits and forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves . . . she conjures the secret and private worlds hidden just inside the curtains of reality, and she does it with sentences as sparse and sharp-edged as unused razor blades. She's my pick: a writer who will constantly sur

  • A brilliant start to what promises to be an enjoyable series . . . Angela has set the scene for the rest of the series, by offering an original and fresh tale encompassing many genres that will enthral all readers alike - Starburst Magazine

  • The world of the Weyrd collides with modern-day Brisbane, bringing chaos in its wake. A brilliant new urban fantasy with elements of murder mystery and magic - I'm already looking forward to the next Verity Fassbinder adventure - Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season

  • A rich paranormal dark fantasy. - Sydney Morning Herald Online

  • Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre - British Fantasy Society

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

The Realm Recommends with Angela Slatter

Right
Left
loading...

The Realm Recommends with Angela Slatter

Right