Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Underbelly: The instant Sunday Times bestseller from Mother Pukka the unmissable, gripping and electrifying fiction debut

Anna Whitehouse

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The explosive, fresh and utterly compulsive women's fiction debut from Mother Pukka and Papa Pukka, writing as Anna Whitehouse. Perfect for fans of So Lucky by Dawn O'Porter and Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid.

'Darkly voyeuristic but with heart - as funny as it is painful and true. We loved it' GRAZIA

'I don't think I've ever turned the pages of a book so quickly. So sharp, so tender... truly excellent storytelling' DAISY BUCHANAN
'Entertaining and playful but with huge depth, meaning and heart. I raced through it' EMMA GANNON

'Thrilling, exhilarating, devastating. A must-read' LAURA JANE WILLIAMS

'Engrossing, fantastically written and painfully real. I laughed, sobbed and got the chills' JESSICA RYN

UNDERBELLY
[n.] singular

The soft underside or abdomen of a mammal.
An area vulnerable to attack.
A dark, hidden part of society.

Lo and Dylan are living parallel lives, worlds apart.

Lo is the ultimate middle-class mother, all perfectly polished Instagram posts and armchair activism.

Dylan is just about surviving on a zero-hours telemarketing job from her flat, trying to keep food on the table.

But when they meet at the school gates, they are catapulted into each other's homes and lives - with devastating consequences . . .

Explosive, sharply humorous and unflinchingly honest, Underbelly slices through the filtered surface of modern women's lives to expose the dark truth beneath.

****

Praise for Anna Whitehouse:

'Painful and funny - and painfully funny' Emma Freud

'Thank God there is none of that smug, married-couple twattery in this book. I loved it' Jane Garvey

'Fantastically unsmug' Woman's Hour

'This book is a hoot - hilarious and heartfelt' Emma Gannon

'Snort-tea-through-nose funny' Cherry Healey

'This book left me laughing so very hard and equally blubbing with tears' Jools Oliver

Read More Read Less

Praise for Underbelly: The instant Sunday Times bestseller from Mother Pukka the unmissable, gripping and electrifying fiction debut

  • Anna and Matt write in their signature style: entertaining and playful but with huge depth, meaning and heart. Underbelly invites us all down the rabbit hole into the wild, weird and sometimes wonderful corners of the Internet. I raced through it - EMMA GANNON

  • I don't think I've ever turned the pages of a book so quickly. This is the first book I've read that really captures life online - the satire is so sharp, but the emotional core of the story is so tender and pulsing. This is truly excellent storytelling - DAISY BUCHANAN

  • Darkly voyeuristic but with heart - as funny as it is painful and true. We loved it - GRAZIA

Read More Read Less

Anna Whitehouse

Anna Whitehouse is a blogger and journalist, having previously worked as Vice Editor at Time Out Amsterdam and copywriter for L'Oreal, Anna quit her job and founded motherpukka.co.uk.

Matt Farquharson is a journalist, freelance editor, and copywriter.

Together they are Mother and Papa Pukka. They have two daughters and bags under their eyes.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay