Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10): A thrilling journey into the secrets at the heart of parliament

Anne Perry

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Thomas Pitt Mystery, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries

In the tenth Victorian mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, a murderer strikes as Members of Parliament cross Westminster Bridge

Westminster is struck by a deadly killer...

In Anne Perry's tenth Victorian mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, a murderer strikes at Members of Parliament crossing Westminster Bridge.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.

'[Anne] Perry once again demonstrates her true and lively passion... Her finely drawn characters couldn't be more comfortable within the customs and sensibility of their historical period' - New York Times Book Review

In the few minutes it takes to cross Westminster Bridge, Sir Lockwood Hamilton has his throat slit and is tied to a lamppost with his evening scarf. The killer vanishes without being seen. Inspector Thomas Pitt thinks the motive might have been personal... or political. When a second Member of Parliament is murdered in the same way, politics seems certain to be the reason. Soon the suspect list includes anarchists and suffragettes. Public outrage mounts and fear grips London and Parliament after a third lamppost murder. Deep in his own investigation, Pitt must rely on his wife, Charlotte, and Great-aunt Vespasia to explore the drawing rooms of the upper class for clues to the mystery. With burning social issues swirling around them, the three of them must solve the case before another MP falls victim to the Westminster cutthroat.

What readers are saying about Bethlehem Road:

'These are a great set of books. Pitt is a really likeable hero'

'I could not put it down. One of her best works'

'Gripping read'

Read More Read Less

Praise for Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10): A thrilling journey into the secrets at the heart of parliament

  • Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out - New York Times Book Review

  • Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers - Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. She has written a multitude of bestselling novels including her highly acclaimed William Monk mysteries, Thomas and Daniel Pitt novels and, most recently, a spy thriller featuring Elena Standish. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay