Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline

Death in the Devil's Acre (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 7): Explore the mysteries of Victorian London with Inspector Pitt

Anne Perry

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Thomas Pitt Mystery, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries

In Anne Perry's seventh mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, the Devil seems to be at work in the dark slums of Victorian London

From the slums of Devil's Acre, to the elegant drawing rooms of Callander Square, there is always something to investigate...

In Death in the Devil's Acre, Anne Perry's seventh mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, the Devil himself seems to be at work in the dark slums of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.

'Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers' - Publishers Weekly

A serial killer is loose in Devil's Acre. The murders are brutal, but it is the killer's grizzly signature that shocks even Inspector Thomas Pitt, no stranger to death and violent crime. The victims are stabbed and sexually mutilated. When Pitt recognises one of the dead as a blackmailing footman from a case on Callander Square, his investigation takes him from the slum brothels to the high reaches of Victorian society and into a world where upper-class women descend to depravity to relieve their boredom.

Despite Pitt's warnings, his wife Charlotte is determined to pursue her own investigation in the elegant drawing rooms of Callander Square. As Pitt and Charlotte approach the same dangerous conclusion from differing paths, no one is spared - not even Pitt.

What readers are saying about Death in the Devil's Acre:

'Anne Perry scans the width and depths of Victoria society with skill and efficiency, bringing her characters to life so vividly'

'As always, Anne Perry excels'

'Five stars'

Read More Read Less

Praise for Death in the Devil's Acre (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 7): Explore the mysteries of Victorian London with Inspector Pitt

  • Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out - New York Times Book Review

  • Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers - Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. She has written a multitude of bestselling novels including her highly acclaimed William Monk mysteries, Thomas and Daniel Pitt novels and, most recently, a spy thriller featuring Elena Standish. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay