Your cart


Total AUD



  • riverrun
  • riverrun

Ward No. 6 and Other Stories (riverrun editions): a unique selection of Chekhov's novellas

Anton Chekhov

Write Review

Rated 0

Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

The second unique collection of Constance Garnett's translations of Chekhov's short fiction, selected for riverrun editions by Janet Malcolm

A young man tries to figure out the best way to live.

A young woman struggles to assert herself within a regrettable marriage.

A doctor attempts to befriend his most interesting patient.

This riverrun edition presents a selection of Chekhov's longer stories - novellas, effectively - in Constance Garnett's timeless translations. These four stories, THE WIFE, THE STEPPE, WARD NO. 6 and MY LIFE, tell of characters attempting to create meaning through work, connection with others and art; they deal with misunderstandings and loss; they celebrate brief joys, sudden passions and unsatisfied longings, all underscored by Chekhov's gentle wit and great humanity.

This unique collection - selected and introduced by the celebrated Janet Malcolm - is unmissable for the enthusiast and a brilliant introduction to one of the nineteenth century's greatest writers.

Read More Read Less

Readers also viewed

Left Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay