Your cart


Total AUD



  • Abacus
  • Abacus

The Birthday Boys

Beryl Bainbridge

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A Bainbridge classic comes into Abacus paperback for the first time.

Beryl Bainbridge gets better and better...she has succeeded with a daring leap of emphatic imagination in penetrating the minds of Captain Scott and the four men he led to their deaths in Antarctica in 1912 Patrick Skene Catling, Evening Standard

THE BIRTHDAY BOYS is classic Bainbridge - one of her absolute best. It is a fictional account of Captain Robert Scott s 1910 expedition to Antarctica told from the perspectives of five men on the voyage: Scott; Petty Officer Taff Evans; ship s medic Dr Edward Wilson; Lieutenant Henry Bowers; and Captain Lawrence Oates.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Birthday Boys

  • Bainbridge s account of the horribly familiar story is both fresh and sure-footed. The power of her imagination, her clarity of expression and mastery of language are more striking than anything else I have read this year - Jane Shilling, Sunday Telegraph

  • A beautiful piece of story-telling. Far more accurately than any biography could do, it catches what must have been Scott s hold on his followers - Andro Linklater, Spectator

  • Her darkest work, equally convincing in tis evocations of the icy, unendurable landscape without, and the chilling interior landscapes of damaged souls - Penny Perrick, Sunday Telegraph

  • She writes of the hideous deprivations so boldly endured; the astounding beauties of the Antarctic landscapes; the personality clashes; the emotional reticences... It seems to me that Beryl Bainbridge has quite surpassed herself in a completely new imaginative direction - Mary Hope, Financial Times

Read More Read Less

Beryl Bainbridge

Beryl Bainbridge was one of the greatest living novelists. Author of seventeen novels, two travel books and five plays for stage and television, she was shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times, and won many literary awards including the Whitbread Prize and the Author of the Year Award at the British Book Awards. She died in July 2010.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay