Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

Isaac and the Egg: an original story of love, loss and finding hope in the unexpected

Bobby Palmer

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Coping with death & bereavement, Family & relationships

One of the most hopeful, honest and wildly imaginative novels you will ever read, for fans of Joanna Cannon, Patrick Ness and Matt Haig.

*THE INSTANT SATURDAY TIMES TOP 10 BESTSELLER*
*A PANDORA SYKES/FANE BOOK CLUB PICK*

*AS FEATURED ON BBC R4 OPEN BOOK*

**Pre-order Bobby Palmer's spellbinding new novel, SMALL HOURS, now**
'A tender story of love, grief and the transformative power of friendship' GUARDIAN
'Truly one of the most beautiful stories you'll ever read' JOANNA CANNON
'Unique and tender' PANDORA SYKES
'An arresting debut novel about grief, but in the most wonderfully oblique way' REVEREND RICHARD COLES

Heartbreaking and heart-stealing, this modern-day fable is an unforgettable novel about sorrow, joy, friendship and love.

It is early. A young man stands on a bridge and lets out a heart-wrenching scream. From deep in the woods, something screams back.

It sounds improbable. But this is how Isaac meets the egg.

The two are unlikely companions. But their chance encounter will transform Isaac's life in ways he cannot yet imagine.

Maybe he will finally understand why he went there that morning. Maybe he will find a way to tell the truth.

Sometimes, to get out of the woods, you have to go into them.

'I laughed, I cried, I sat quietly and thought about what I'd read... a future classic' CLARE MACKINTOSH

'Just magic' KATE SAWYER WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THAT EGG BOOK:

'Simply the best book I have read in years' ⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐
'Will stay with me for a long time' ⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐
'A perfect parable of hope' ⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐
'Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure' ⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐
'If you read only one book this year, let it be this one' ⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐

Read More Read Less

Praise for Isaac and the Egg: an original story of love, loss and finding hope in the unexpected

  • Truly one of the most beautiful stories you'll ever read, written with generosity and warmth, and such perception. What's it about? I'd love to have a stab at explaining, but I can't. You're just going to have to find out for yourself. I can tell you one thing: it's a story for anyone who has ever lost somebody, or has ever lost their way

  • A mad, sad, funny debut

  • I laughed, I cried, I sat quietly and thought about what I'd read . . . a future classic

  • This book is just magic

  • I read it in one breath. Then I couldn't quite work out what had happened to me, but whatever it was, it was true and tragic and funny and hopeful and big - big enough somehow to contain all of our stories and all of our lives inside it

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

A Summer Abroad (At Home!): Unmissable International Titles

loading...

Check out these bestsellers for the best dad

loading...

Read an extract from Isaac and the Egg by Bobby Palmer

Right
Left
loading...

A Summer Abroad (At Home!): Unmissable International Titles

loading...

Check out these bestsellers for the best dad

loading...

Read an extract from Isaac and the Egg by Bobby Palmer

Right

Bobby Palmer

BOBBY PALMER is an author and journalist whose writing has appeared in GQ, Esquire, Men's Health, Cosmopolitan and more. He is co-host of the literary podcast Book Chat with Pandora Sykes. His critically acclaimed debut, Isaac and the Egg, was published in 2022. Small Hours is his second novel.

Visit www.bobbypalmer.co.uk for more news about Bobby and his writing or follow him on X and Instagram @thebobpalmer.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay