Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

An Italian Summer

Fanny Blake

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

An uplifting story about second chances, perfect for fans of Hillary Boyd, Maeve Haran, Joanna Trollope and Celia Imrie.

'A glorious jaunt around Italy with characters I didn't want to leave' CLARE MACKINTOSH


A compelling novel about friendship, family secrets and second chances, set against the backdrop of southern Italy.

Sandy is in her fifties, and at a crossroads in her life: she's a teacher and respected by her pupils, but she feels she is being sidelined in favour of younger colleagues. So when her mother dies, leaving her a sealed envelope addressed to an unknown woman living in Naples, Sandy decides to head to Italy to resolve the mystery by delivering the letter herself.

She books herself on to a small sightseeing trip from Rome to Naples and the Amalfi Coast, hoping to meet some like-minded people along the way. Who is the mysterious woman she is searching for? And will Sandy find friendship, or even love, along the way...?


Your favourite authors love An Italian Summer:

'I adored An Italian Summer... Fanny not only writes beautifully about relationships, but the descriptions of Rome and Naples are so ravishing, that you not only marvel at the scenery but also taste the delectable food and feel the hot sun on your back. A most beguiling read' JILLY COOPER

'Intelligent, grown-up and cheering, Fanny has cornered the market in "real" stories told well' FERN BRITTON

'A lovely, absorbing read, gently told, but with a intriguingly dark edge' HILARY BOYD

'Likeable and realistic characters in a glorious Italian setting, this is the perfect summer read' MAEVE HARAN

'I loved this book. Fanny Blake excels at exploring the intricate detail of relationships' SARAH MORGAN


'As themes of friendship and love intertwine with mystery, the plot reels you in until you have no choice but to devour every word. 5 stars' Heat

'Fanny Blake's writing is absorbing, intelligent and an absolute joy to read... Building to an unexpected and clever twist, this heart-warming and compelling novel is the perfect summer read' Daily Express

Read More Read Less

Fanny Blake

Fanny Blake was a publisher for many years, editing both fiction and non-fiction before becoming a freelance journalist and writer. She has written a number of novels, including With a Friend Like You and Women of a Dangerous Age, and various non-fiction titles, as well as acting as ghost writer for a number of celebrities. She is also Books Editor of Woman & Home magazine.

Find out more at www.fannyblake.com or follow her on Twitter @fannyblake1

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay