Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Gifted School

Bruce Holsinger

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction

A compulsively readable novel about a group of friends and parents destroyed by their own competitiveness when an exclusive school for gifted children opens in the community

Ambitious parents, wilful kids, and the pursuit of prestige - no matter the cost... A gripping page-turner, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

'Wise and addictive... an incisive inspection of privilege, race and class.' The New York Times

In the peaceful, privileged community of Crystal, Colorado, a group of close friends are raising their families in harmony.

Until one day, news begins to spread that a 'gifted school' will be opening its doors in their town. There are only a few prestigious places, and the competition will be ferocious.

As parents and children begin to compete, cracks start to show in this picturesque community. Fault lines appear between friends and siblings, in marriages and careers, as old resentments start to simmer and long-buried secrets threaten to detonate under the pressure...

Just how far will these parents go to give their children a good education, and what will be the ultimate price?

Praise for THE GIFTED SCHOOL..

'Snapping with tension, this is a book for our times. It will push a lot of buttons for a lot of people'
SHARI LAPENA, AUTHOR OF THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR

'Like Big Little Lies with standardized testing... a deeply pleasurable read'
MEG WOLITZER, AUTHOR OF THE FEMALE PERSUASION

'The summer read that predicted the college-admissions scandal'
THE WALL STREET JOURNAL

'Exposes how easily a mix of good intentions, self-delusions, and minor sins can escalate'
THE NEW YORKER

'[A] timely and relevant read for the summer'
OPRAHMAG.COM

'A (hilariously) timely book that explores the lengths to which privileged parents will go to get their kids a top education'
NEW YORK POST

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Gifted School

  • Wise and addictive... a suspenseful, laugh-out-loud page-turner and an incisive inspective of privilege, race and class - New York Times

  • The summer read that predicted the college-admissions scandal - The Wall Street Journal

  • Like BIG LITTLE LIES with standardized testing... a deeply pleasurable read - Meg Wolitzer, author of The Female Persuasion

  • THE GIFTED SCHOOL exposes how easily a mix of good intentions, self-delusions, and minor sins can escalate into the kind of skullduggery that might prompt an FBI sting - The New Yorker

  • A timely and relevant read for the summer - Oprahmag.com

Read More Read Less

Bruce Holsinger

Bruce Holsinger is a novelist based in Charlottesville, Virginia, where he teaches at the University of Virginia. He is the receipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship. The Gifted School is his third novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay