Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Hachette Audio
  • Orbit

Dead Water: A novel of folk horror

C. A. Fletcher

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Science fiction

A haunting, suspenseful tale of isolation and dread within a small island community gripped by a pandemic - from the author of A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World, perfect for fans of The Loney and Station Eleven

A water-borne blight hits a remote community on a small island on the edge of the Northern Atlantic. The islanders are a strange mix, some island-born, some seeking a slower life away from the modern world. All have their own secrets, some much darker than others. Rumour says the illness may be a water-borne neural infection from the shellfish farm, a case of mass hysteria - or even a long-buried curse - but when ferry service fails, inconvenience grows into nightmarish ordeal as the outwardly harmonious fabric of the community is unnervingly torn apart.

A haunting, suspenseful tale of isolation and dread within a small island community - from the author of A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World, perfect for fans of The Loney and Station Eleven.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Dead Water: A novel of folk horror

  • Epic in scope, enthralling

  • I'm still thinking about this book, weeks after finishing it

  • That twist! That ending! You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading

  • A truly engrossing survival story, which gives us a haunting vision of a ruined Britain that's both dangerous and strangely beautiful . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world

  • Fletcher does a masterful job keeping the stakes high and the suspense crackling . . . This un-put-down-able story has everything - a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs

Read More Read Less

C. A. Fletcher

C. A. Fletcher has children and dogs. He lives in Scotland and writes for a living.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay