Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre

Other People's Clothes

Calla Henkel

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Sceptre's lead debut fiction title, OTHER PEOPLE'S CLOTHES is a Berlin-based literary thriller for fans of The Girls and My Year of Rest and Relaxation.

'Full of delicious layers . . . I felt drunk reading it.' Emma Jane Unsworth

Intoxicating, compulsive and blackly funny, Other People's Clothes is the thrilling debut novel from Berlin-based American artist Calla Henkel.

2009. Berlin.

Two art students arrive from New York, both desperate for the city to solve their problems.

Zoe is grieving for her high school best friend, murdered months before in her hometown in Florida.

Hailey is rich, obsessed with the exploits of Lindsay Lohan and Britney Spears and wants to be a Warholian legend.

Together they rent a once-magnificent apartment from eccentric crime writer Beatrice Becks. With little to fill their time, they spend their nights twisting through Berlin's club scene and their days hungover.

Soon inexplicable things start happening in the apartment and the two friends suspect they are being watched by Beatrice. Convinced that their landlord is using their lives as inspiration for her next thriller novel, they decide to beat her at her own game. The girls start hosting wild parties in the flat and quickly gain notoriety, with everyone clamouring for an invite to 'Beatrice's.' But ultimately they find themselves unable to control the narrative and it spirals into much darker territory . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Other People's Clothes

  • Full of delicious layers . . . I felt drunk reading it. - Emma Jane Unsworth

Read More Read Less

Calla Henkel

Calla Henkel is an American writer, playwright, director and artist living in Berlin. She has staged plays at Volksbuhne Berlin, The Whitney Museum of Art, as well as at New Theater, the experimental theatre space she founded and programmed in Berlin from 2013-2015. Her art writing has been published in periodicals such as Texte zur Kunst, Spike, Mousse, and others. Her artistic work with Max Pitegoff has been exhibited in museums and galleries worldwide. She currently operates a bar, performance space and film studio called TV in Berlin. Other People's Clothes is her debut novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay