Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

A Place to Belong: A gripping, heartwrenching saga set in World War Two Ireland

Cathy Mansell

Write Review

Rated 0

Sagas, Historical fiction

Fans of sweeping historical fiction will love this dramatic, emotional and romantic novel of triumph-in-adversity, set in Dublin and rural Ireland.

Set against the glorious backdrop of World War Two Ireland, this dramatic, emotional and romantic novel is perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, Lorna Cook, Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft!

'A romantic saga writer to watch' PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH

She lost everything in one night. Now she must fight for happiness.

It's 1943 and Ireland has escaped the worst of the war raging in Europe, but life is not without its hardships. When fire breaks out at the convent in Cavan where she has spent the past ten years, orphan Eva Fallon barely escapes with her life.

She's offered a bed for the night by Ma Scully, whilst her nephew Cathal, visiting from Dublin, helps battle the blaze. Seventeen-year-old Eva has never known such kindness but she's too proud to take advantage, and finds a job at Blackstock's farm, setting in motion a chain of events that will change her life forever.

Amidst tragedy and hardship, the only ray of light is the friendship of Ma Scully and her growing, secret love for Cathal. And through it all Eva clings to her hope that one day she will find a place where she can truly belong.

Don't miss Cathy Mansell's next powerfully heartrending family saga of three sisters in 1950s Ireland - The Dublin Girls - out now! Here's what readers are saying:

'Glorious - a cross between Maeve Binchy and Catherine Cookson' 5* early reader review

'A superb saga' PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH

'A heart-warming story full of characters you'll come to love' ROSIE GOODWIN 'Page-turning and compelling... Most highly recommended' MARGARET KAINE

'Rarely have I read a book where every character springs from the pages so authentically' JEAN CHAPMAN

'A warm-hearted, engaging story' MARGARET JAMES, WRITING MAGAZINE

Read More Read Less

Cathy Mansell

Cathy Mansell was born in Ireland and, although she now lives in Leicester, her Irish heritage plays a significant role in her fiction. Hailing from a family of writers, she says it was inevitable that she too would become one. She has had five novels published by Tirgearr Publishing before publishing A Place to Belong with Headline.

To find out more about Cathy, visit her website: cathymansell.co.uk, find her on Facebook: facebook.com/CathyMansell12 and follow her on Twitter: @cathymansell3.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay