Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Mirror Dance

Catriona McPherson

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Something sinister is afoot in the streets of Dundee, when a puppeteer is found murdered behind his striped Punch and Judy stand, as children sit cross-legged drinking ginger beer. At once, Dandy Gilver's semmingly-innocuous investigation into plagiarism takes a darker turn. The gruesome death seems to be inextricably bound to the gloomy offices of Doig's Publishers, its secrets hidden in the real stories behind their girls' magazines The Rosie Cheek and The Freckle.

On meeting a mysterious professor from St Andrews, Dandy and her faithful colleague Alex Osbourne are flung into the worlds of academia, the theatre and publishing. Nothing is quite as it seems, and behind the cheerful facades of puppets and comic books, is a troubled history has begun to repeat itself.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Mirror Dance

  • The perfect literary treat. - Red on THE TURNING TIDE

  • A great pinch of humour and a sprinkling of absurdity, McPherson beautifully evokes the feelings and images of post-war Edinburgh. - The Wee Review on THE TURNING TIDE

  • A deliriously fun tale, flawlessly written. - Saga on A STEP SO GRAVE

Read More Read Less

Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson was born in the village of Queensferry in south-east Scotland in 1965 and educated at Edinburgh University. She left with a PhD in Linguistics and spent a few years as a university lecturer before beginning to write fiction. The first Dandy Gilver novel was short-listed for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger 2005 and the second was long-listed for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award 2007. The series has won two Agathas, two Macavitys, and four Leftys in the USA.Catriona writes full-time and divides her time between southern Scotland and northern California.

www.dandygilver.com
www.catrionamcpherson.com
www.twitter.com/CatrionaMcP

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay