Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Mirror Dance

Catriona McPherson

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Something sinister is afoot in the streets of Dundee, when a puppeteer is found murdered behind his striped Punch and Judy stand, as children sit cross-legged drinking ginger beer. At once, Dandy Gilver's semmingly-innocuous investigation into plagiarism takes a darker turn. The gruesome death seems to be inextricably bound to the gloomy offices of Doig's Publishers, its secrets hidden in the real stories behind their girls' magazines The Rosie Cheek and The Freckle.

On meeting a mysterious professor from St Andrews, Dandy and her faithful colleague Alex Osbourne are flung into the worlds of academia, the theatre and publishing. Nothing is quite as it seems, and behind the cheerful facades of puppets and comic books, is a troubled history has begun to repeat itself.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Mirror Dance

  • The perfect literary treat. - Red on THE TURNING TIDE

  • A great pinch of humour and a sprinkling of absurdity, McPherson beautifully evokes the feelings and images of post-war Edinburgh. - The Wee Review on THE TURNING TIDE

  • A deliriously fun tale, flawlessly written. - Saga on A STEP SO GRAVE

Read More Read Less

Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson is the best-selling and multi-award-winning author of over twenty crime novels, mostly set in her native Scotland. She now lives in California where she writes full-time.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay