Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

'It's amazing how good this book is' says Karen Joy Fowler: discover Chloe Benjamin's THE IMMORTALISTS, a sweeping family drama for fans of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and FATES AND FURIES.

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, THE IMMORTALISTS is about as good as it gets. It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy Fowler

It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.

Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, THE IMMORTALISTS is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Read More Read Less

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.