Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Second World War fiction

If you go down to the woods today...

For fans of ATONEMENT and SUITE FRANCAISE comes the electrifying debut from a talented new voice. While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front, battles of the heart.

'THE BOY MADE OF SNOW had me compulsively turning the pages to find out the fate of Daniel and his mother. A haunting and thrilling read. I absolutely loved it' Kate Hamer, author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT
'An evocative and stunning debut' Jane Harris, author of GILLESPIE AND I
'Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking' Rachel Rhys, author of DANGEROUS CROSSING
'A beautiful and evocative debut' STYLIST
'Affecting' DAILY MAIL

In a sleepy English village in 1944, Annabel and her son Daniel live in the shadow of war. With her husband away, an increasingly isolated Annabel begins to lose her grip on reality.

When mother and son befriend Hans, a German PoW consigned to a nearby farm, their lives are suddenly filled with thrilling secrets.

To Annabel, Hans is an awakening from the darkness that has engulfed her since Daniel's birth. To her son, a solitary boy caught up in the magical world of fairy tales, he is perhaps a prince in disguise. But Hans has plans of his own and will soon set them into motion with devastating consequences.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Boy Made of Snow

  • It excels chiefly in its tense, acute rendering of Annabel's deteriorating mental state - The Saturday Age

  • The Boy Made of Snow is a beautifully crafted novel that takes the dangers of living during WWII, twists them with the whimsy of fairytales and lets you deep inside a broken family who are trying to hard to be 'normal'. This is a story that I'll be hard-pressed to forget. I highly recommend. - Words of the Roses

Read More Read Less

Chloe Mayer

Chloe Mayer is a journalist, whose work has been shortlisted for several awards, including newcomer of the year and reporter of the year. She has lived and worked in Tokyo and Los Angeles, and now lives in east London, not far from where she grew up. The Boy Made of Snow is her first novel.