Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths: Winner of the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Debut of the Year!

Claire Askew

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Di Birch, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.

In the aftermath of a tragedy, the world needs an explanation.

In Edinburgh, after the Three Rivers College shooting, some things are clear.

They know who. They know when.

No one can say why.

For three women the lack of answers is unbearable: DI Helen Birch, the detective charged with solving the case. Ishbel, the mother of the first victim, struggling to cope with her grief. And Moira, mother of the killer, who needs to understand what happened to her son.

But as people search for someone to blame, the truth seems to vanish...

From a prizewinning poet, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS is a searing, compelling and powerful debut.

'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat

'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club

'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie Claire

Read More Read Less

Praise for All the Hidden Truths: Winner of the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Debut of the Year!

  • Stunning debut... compellingly written. - Daily Mail

  • Gripping, heartbreaking and horrifyingly plausible. I couldn't tear myself away from this book. Claire Askew is a stunning new voice in crime fiction.

  • Splendid debut... thoughtful and well-written. - Guardian

  • This is a such a clever, brave book. Askew looks unflinchingly at the unimaginable, but her writing is wrought with compassion. It's as heart-rending as it is gripping.

  • Moving and memorable. - The Sunday Times

  • Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.

  • Claire Askew takes us away from the obvious plot and asks us tantalising questions... the three women... form an absorbing psychological trio for Askew's thought-provoking, upsetting entry into crime fiction. - The Times

  • (a) Fine, thought-provoking debut - Mail on Sunday

Read More Read Less

Claire Askew

Claire Askew is an award-winning poet and novelist. Her debut novel, All the Hidden Truths, won the 2016 Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize as a work in progress, and was selected as a Times Crime Book of the Month. Claire has won numerous other accolades for her work, including the Jessie Kesson Fellowship and a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay