Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio

The Graves of Whitechapel: A darkly atmospheric historical crime thriller set in Victorian London

Claire Evans

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A atmospheric, gripping thriller set in turn-of-the-century London by the author of The Fourteenth Letter, for fans of Andrew Taylor, Laura Shepherd-Robinson and The Interpretation of Murder.

'An enthralling read' -- DAILY MAIL

In the gripping new novel by the author of The Fourteenth Letter, a lawyer in Victorian London must find a man he got off a murder charge - and who seems to have killed again . . .

Victorian London, 1882.

Five years ago, crusading lawyer Cage Lackmann successfully defended Moses Pickering against a charge of murder. Now, a body is found bearing all the disturbing hallmarks of that victim - and Pickering is missing.

Cage's reputation is in tatters, and worse, he is implicated in this new murder by the bitter detective who led the first failed case. Left with no other alternative, Cage must find Pickering to prove his innocence.

Did Cage free a brutal murderer? Or is there something more sinister at work?

PRAISE FOR CLAIRE EVANS 'A darkly brilliant romp packed with intrigue and romance . . . curl up and prepare to become immersed'
Heat

'Exuberant plotting and witty prose. Great fun'
The Times

'Claire Evans has created a cast of deliciously sinister and mysterious characters. A hugely satisfying read'
Good Housekeeping

'If you enjoyed Kate Mosse's Labyrinth or Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, then chances are you're going to love this new thriller'
Hello Magazine

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Graves of Whitechapel: A darkly atmospheric historical crime thriller set in Victorian London

  • Exuberant plotting and witty prose. Great fun - The Times (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • A darkly brilliant romp packed with intrigue and romance . . . curl up and prepare to become immersed - Heat (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • Claire Evans has created a cast of deliciously sinister and mysterious characters. A hugely satisfying read - Good Housekeeping (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • I stayed up far too late reading this night after night. IT WILL GET YOU HOOKED - Herald Sun (on The Fourteenth Letter)

  • The Graves of Whitechapel flows eloquently. Evans utilises the art form to add density to the evolving story with one poem above all - The Graves of Whitechapel - cleverly perpetuating the plot's thickening mysteries - The Courier

  • This mystery melodrama has a Victorian setting almost Dickensian in its convincing portrayal of the seamier side of fog-wrapped London life . . . An enthralling read - Daily Mail

Read More Read Less

Claire Evans

Claire Evans is an established business specialist in the UK television industry. At the BBC, she headed up operations and business affairs across the TV commissioning teams. In drama, she led the BBC's commercial relationships with the independent production sector and a wide range of international co-producers and distributors.

Since leaving the BBC, she has advised a number of drama and film production companies, working on series including The Honourable Woman and Doctor Foster. She is Chief Operating Officer at Two Brothers Pictures Ltd, the company set up by Harry and Jack Williams, the creators of The Missing, producers of Fleabag.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay